Sunshine Blogger Award Nomination for Film Faculty from Jakob at JumpCut UK and Keith Noakes

sunshine-blogger

I appreciate and accept the nomination of a Sunshine Blogger Award from the fantastic people over at JumpCut UK, with a tip of the hat to Jakob, a man who has been one of the kindest internet personalities I’ve had the pleasure of interacting with. I want to thank you for the nomination and for considering Film Faculty as a peer. I’ll also take the opportunity to thank Keith Noakes at Keith Loves Movies for the Sunshine Blogger nomination as well. Because I’ve had 2 nominations and don’t have time to answer 22 questions (and let’s face it, you don’t want to read 22 answers either), I’ll be using the most recent nomination, namely Jakob’s.

The Sunshine Blogger Award is similar to the Liebster Award, inasmuch as it was created to honour those who produce content that provides readers with quality information. It is incredibly flattering to be regarded as such.

Here’s the part where I answer Jakob’s questions.

1) What is your favorite film of 2016 so far?

Midnight Special
Midnight Special (2016) directed by Jeff Nichols

Midnight Special IS cinema. Loved every minute of that film. If you haven’t read it yet, here’s my 5/5 review.

2) In your opinion, who is (are) the most underrated actor(s) working today?

kate-beckinsale
Kate Beckinsale

And also Bridget Moynahan and Cole Hauser.

3) Name a classic film everyone loves, but you haven’t seen yet.

giphy
Akira Kurosawa’s Seven Samurai (1954)

 I tried watching it once and fell asleep. It’s still on my list and I’m looking forward to giving it another go sometime before I die :)

4) If you could be any film character, who would you be and why?

clooney-oceansDaniel Ocean

He seems to be having lots of fun and he’s got a bunch of money I’d like to have.

5) What is your favorite film of the decade so far (2010-2016)?

rey-bb8Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens (2015)

This is a hard one. It’s really a toss-up between 4 films: Interstellar (2014), Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens (2015), Drive (2011) and Midnight Special (2016). Because Star Wars is from my childhood and now my kids enjoy the Saga, I’ll have to go for The Force Awakens. After the disappointment of the prequels (that have good elements in them, but are not good films), The Force Awakens felt like a jug of water being handed to me after having walked through a desert and being parched for 32 years. I’m also writing an essay about how The Force Awakens is not a reboot or a remake of Star Wars (1977). As much as I loved the other films mentioned above, I haven’t felt the need to write any more than I already have about them. (Note: Before you lose your mind (looking at you Uche… ;)), please look to the word choice in the question. It reads “favorite” and not “best.” I answered the former.)

6) If you could meet any famous person, who would it be and why?

jack-nicholson-2
Jack Nicholson

I would love to meet Jack Nicholson to discuss directing and producing with him. Nicholson accidentally became a film star, but he had set out to be a writer, director and producer. I would love to discuss those aspects with him. What he thinks a good script should have; how he approached directing his 4 features and how he would change his approach now (if he would); what kind of direction did he like receiving on film sets and if he used those techniques when directing other actors. Nicholson has seen it all. It would be a fascinating discussion.

7) What is the last film you fell asleep during? And was it due to boredom or tiredness?

cameron-diaz
Sex Tape (2014)

Both. I managed to finish the movie eventually, but not even Cameron Diaz running around nude could keep me awake.

8) Which 2017 film are you most excited for?

episode-8
Star Wars Episode VIII (2017)

On Episode 2 of #AtlanticSC Podcast: Suicide Squad (kind of…), Lee from Big Picture Reviews and I made a pact to not get overexcited or overhype films from now on. As such, I’m only excited for one film, and it’s the exception I’ve allowed myself: Star Wars.  As stated during Episode 3: Hail, Caesar!, to me Star Wars is not the same and therefore, I’ve allowed myself to get excited for anything Star Wars related. I’m eager for Rogue One (2016) and, as such, the 2017 film I’m most excited for is Star Wars Episode VIII.

9) If you could have any super power, what would it be? And would you use it for good or evil, be honest?

using-the-force
The Force

I’d like to be able to use the Force. I don’t know if I’d use it for good or for evil. I think it would depend on the situation. I mean, I’d love to use the Force Fantasia-style and clean my house up with my mind. But, I’d be lying if I said I’d never Jedi mind trick my girlfriend a few times to get what I want (I know that sounds creepy, but that’s your fault. I could be using the trick to get out of watching a movie I have no interest in seeing. Get your minds straight, people ;))

10) What is your most prized possession in the world and why?

fullsizerender

My girlfriend. She has allowed me to be who I am. Most people in relationships aren’t blessed with that type of commitment and understanding. Same goes for my kids :) They make being a father pretty damn easy.

I also own original mint in box 1988 Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Michelangelo and Leonardo action figures. They are the soft head versions. I bought them on eBay 5 years ago because they are the first toys I remember earning. I’ve never liked math and as a child, I always preferred reading and watching movies to doing any other homework, especially math. When I was in Grade 4, every Friday morning was Mad Minute morning and I wasn’t particularly good at them. However, I studied extra hard and a few weeks into the term, I aced one. 40 questions, 40 answers right. My father appreciated the effort and said that my hard work deserved to be rewarded. He said “Come. Let’s go get that Ninja Turtle you keep talking about.” I was an avid watcher of the show, but I had yet to get any of the Turtles to play with. Dad took me to Woolco (Yup, that’s right) and took me to the Ninja Turtle aisle (Yup, that’s right too…). I had both Michelangelo and Leonardo in my hands and couldn’t make up my mind. My father looked at the price. $3.99 a piece (This is 1988). He looked at me and I asked him which he would choose. He smiled and said “do you think you can get another high score next Friday.” I promised to study hard. He got both Turtles for me. I got 38/40 the week after. That is the most vivid memory of my childhood. Glad I could share it with you.

11) If you had to get a tattoo of someone’s face, who would it be and why?

darth-vader
Darth Vader

Yup, I can hear it right now: “He’s not a real person.” Whatever. Some of you may feel like that’s a cop out, and it may very well be, but that’s his face. Every time he takes off the helmet, he’s Anakin Skywalker, so BOOM! (I know there’s a nitpicky fuck out there that’ll point out that he was given the name Darth Vader in Revenge of the Sith (2005) before he needed the suit. But, my counter argument is the Obi-Wan logic. Obi-Wan calls him Anakin in Revenge of the Sith, but Darth Vader in Star Wars (1977). In Return of the Jedi (1983), Obi-Wan says “he ceased to be Anakin Skywalker and became Darth Vader.” The Emperor, Yoda and Obi-Wan are the last to have seen Anakin’s face, and therefore to everyone else, Darth Vader is the tall cloaked figure with a helmet. Now, what I’ve said is true… from a certain point of view :)

The reason Darth Vader is the obvious choice, beyond the fact that he’s Darth Vader and that’s good enough as an argument, is because there’s no actual person on my body.

Thanks for reading! I will simply nominate Lee at Big Picture Reviews to answer the same questions :) They were fun and I know he’ll like answering them too. So here they are:

1) What is your favourite film of 2016 so far?
2) In your opinion, who is the most underrated actor/actress working today?
3) Name a “classic” film that everyone loves, but you haven’t even seen before
4) If you could be any film character, who would it be and why?
5) What is your favourite film of this decade so far (2010-2016)?
6) If you could meet any famous person, who would it be and why?
7) What is the last film you fell asleep during? And was it due to boredom or tiredness?
8) Which 2017 film are you most excited for?
9) If you could have any super power, what would it be? And would you use it for good or evil, be honest?
10) What is your most prized possession in the world and why?
11) If you had to get a tattoo of someone’s face, who would it be and why?

How about the rest of you? What would be your answers to these questions? Let me know in the comment section below!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Hey, turns out someone knows me more than I think. I was literally about to pull hair before I saw the “looking at you…” hahaha! Nice one man! Ehh…guess what? I too would love to have a go at the questions, so watch this space….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great! Can’t wait to read your answers, sir!

      Like

  2. 1. Swiss Army Man. No, Kubo and the Two Strings. No, Hell or High Water. No, Sing Street. No, Finding Dory. No, Zootopia. No, CW:CV. No….I’m so sorry.
    2. Dane DeHaan. Soairse Ronan.
    3. The Graduate.
    4. Oh…I’ll be Mr. T-800 from Terminator 2. Because…”Just come with me if you want to…”
    5. Life of Pi. No, The Theory of Everything. No, Boyhood. No, Inside Out. No…this is SUPER TOUGH!!!!
    6. G.R.R.M. The guy will literally not have breathing space. He either gives exclusives on how everything ends or he’s not breathing. Easy peasy.
    7. Huntsman: Winter’s War. Jessica Chastain and all the faux Irish accents made me so drowsy I went night-night
    8. Star Wars Episode 8 without the slightest doubt.
    9. Telekinetics. Jean Grey kinda telekinetics. Because…seriously how awesome is moving stuff with your mind?
    10. I don’t have kids…yet : ( So it’ll have to be my entire entertainment system (3D-TV, PS4 etc.) and my media collection.
    11. Mine. Because there’ll be less need for laser removal

    Like

Comment Section

