Honest Trailers: Deadpool and Film Faculty’s Contribution

12900137_10154042258111228_1793882913_n

I’m really proud of this little moment, so I decided to share it with all of you.

I follow Screen Junkies on Twitter and therefore I saw creator of Honest Trailers and host of Movie Fights, Andy Signore tweet that he would love to have Ryan Reynolds do the Deadpool Honest Trailer. Signore wanted to get every one of the Screen Junkies following to barrage Reynolds with tweets begging him to get in on the joke.

I liked the idea of getting in on the joke as well. On March 27th, 2016 I created the above photo and sent it to Signore via Facebook. I simply explained that I had made the image to help get Reynolds on the show. Signore responded with a prompt laugh and thanks, which was really pleasant.

I hadn’t seen Signore tweet the photo on March 28th, so I decided to tweet it myself. I’ll admit that I was a little bummed that I hadn’t seen my photo on Twitter, so I went ahead and posted it a few more times just to see if it would get to Reynolds himself (wishful thinking, I know :)).

On April 1st, after posting the image once more, Signore contacted me and told me that he had tweeted it, but that immediately after he had tweeted the image, Reynolds privately contacted him! I was ecstatic! Understandably, Signore asked me not to share the wonderful news, but he privately thanked me once more for my contribution.

I’ve had to keep the secret for over a month, but now that the cat is out of the bag, I’m glad I could share that Film Faculty officially contributed to getting Ryan Reynolds to do the Screen Junkies Deadpool Honest Trailer and that Signore is a good chap!

Here is the Honest Trailer for 407740_1

The Deadpool Final Red Band Trailer

Here is Film Faculty’s review of Deadpool

Be sure to subscribe to Film Faculty’s REEL Table Talks on iTunes. To everyone who has subscribed already, thanks for the support! Episode 1: Alien has been generating quite some buzz. We’re working on our next REEL Table Talks: Kubrick’s A Clockwork Orange, which should be out sometime in June.

Be sure to support Screen Junkies by following them on Twitter, subscribing to their channel on YouTube or by subscribing to Screen Junkies Plus

Deadpool is out on Blu-ray

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Diego says:

    That’s pretty cool man! Well done bro.

    Like

    1. Thanks Diego!

      Like

  2. Congratulations. I know how that goes. I wrote a post (poem) regarding Bruce Jenner and tried to tweet it to him. And I also wrote a post (poem) extolling Marvel characters and tried to get it noticed by Stan Lee via his official Marvel site. Alas, I wasn’t effective in either case but that’s because I can’t tweet worth a tw*t. I still don’t do it even though I opened an account last year, but it only blasts out my latest post. I am not active there at all. On another note, I loved Deadpool. Ryan Reynolds did an excellent job.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I used to have the same trouble with Twitter, but now it’s really my go to social medium.
      I guess I got lucky for Deadpool. Who knows? I had a fun time making the image and tried to be as clever as I good by highlighting the wall breaks :) The movie was fun indeed, and Reynolds was always the only choice to embody that character.

      Perhaps you should try tweeting the poems again, or maybe even sending them by email to the official sites. It’s worth taking another shot, imo. :)

      Liked by 1 person

Comment Section

